Daily Art Practice #2

I am inspired to attempt to draw my own face. Looking at a photo of myself, I tried so hard to draw without looking at the page. I mostly succeeded, but was so tempted to look, as I was wondering if my image actually looked like me.

image 1 post 2
Self Portrait, Nicole Putz 2016

 

image 2 post 2
Self Portrait, Nicole Putz 2016
image 3 post 2.jpg
Self Portrait, Nicole Putz 2016
original post 2.jpg
Photo: Nicole Putz 2016

In Kathryn’s class today we explored embodied poetry. The memory I chose to

write:

The face in my sketchpad

I liked drawing faces

Very two dimensionsal and childlike

I was…maybe 10

Short blonde hair, big brown eyes

I told my parents I wanted to be an artist

They praised my drawings

and then my dad cracked a joke about artists

not being able to get a job

He didn’t mean to impact me

It was just a joke

He would never do that to me willingly

But that was the last sketchpad I ever had

Until now.

(re) write:

Drawing Faces

Dimensional

Hair, Eyes

Parents

Artist

Praised, Joked

Job

Impact

Sketchpad

Until Now.

 

(re) construct

I chose to have my daughter in the last image I drew because she is in the photo with me. (re)construct….what will I say to her, when she tells me what she wants to be?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

