a/r/tography

July 4th, 2016

This is the first time I have ever tried to draw without looking at the page. In fact, this is the first time I have owned my own sketchbook as an adult. What a gift. I am going to be sharing series of 3 drawn images, 8 times thoughtout my journey through a/r/tography.

Here we go.

The first image is one that representes a memory I have from teaching this past year. I felt myself start drawing the hand in front of me, and had the urge to draw roots coming out of my hand and represent my arm as a tree come to me before the memory did, which I find to be quite interesting. I wonder about the “space in-between” this particular discovery; will it continue as a trend in my future artistic renderings?

The memory itself is one of seeing my students running around with each others on a math scavenger hung for our geometry unit, bundled to the nines in winter gear, with smiles on their faces as they pressed their cold cheeks against the windows of the music room so they could show the music teacher what they were up to. One of my students in particular, was so so proud. The fingers are the bare branches of the trees in winter, they look cold and empty but the roots run deep into the earth.

 

Leave a Reply

